Q: How can I delete settings file for PDF Studio?

A: PDF Studio 12 saves your user settings / user preferences under a hidden directory called “.pdfstudio12″ located under your user home directory. This directory is hidden by default in most operating systems because it starts with a “.”.

Your user settings include: your license key, default tools and annotations properties, saved header and footers, document services info, stamps, signature appearances, etc…

Instructions for Windows:

  • Exit PDF Studio
  • Open a command shell: Windows + R, cmd or Start > Run > cmd
  • The command prompt should open to your user directory by default.For example, C:\users\JohnSmith
  • Type dir /a in the terminal window.
  • Make sure you see .pdfstudio12 in the file list.
  • Type rmdir .pdfstudio12 to delete the directory.
  • Type dir /a to verify the directory was deleted

Instructions for Mac and Linux:

  • Exit PDF Studio
  • Open a Terminal window. (On Mac, Applications > Utilities > Terminal.app)
  • The terminal prompt should open to your user directory by default.  For example, apple-ibook:~apple
  • Type ls -a in the terminal window.
  • Make sure you see .pdfstudio12 in the file list.
  • Type rm -R .pdfstudio12 to delete the directory.
  • Type ls -a to verify the directory was deleted